In the moment

Summer is here!  My kids are no longer under the watchful eyes of dedicated teachers.  I now am the watchful eye.  Yesterday it was a rare beautiful day here and I decided that the kids should get maximum outdoor time as our weather has been unpredictable and ‘bad’ more often than not. 

So, I took them to a local lake and they played with their friends for about 5 hours.  I forgot any sort of distraction for myself (a.k.a. a book) and so I sat and witnessed life for 5 hours.  It was an amazing time/space experience for me, the time went speedy quick and in that time I saw Eagles swooping for food, naked babies toddling to the water, Ducks waddling, young teens doing ‘young teen’ things, buff life-guards (The Graduate comes to mind) and the such.  I also saw my kids enjoy themselves thoroughly.  In all of that time I noticed not ONE stressful thought, or one thought in the past or future.  I was in the moment and it was stunningly relaxing. 

That state of witnessing life happen in the moment is such a state of grace that I certainly will use my experience at the lake as a touchstone moment for the times that I am feeling stressed about the future, or regretting the past in some way….both of those states (past and future) do not exist…so why visit them (especially if they cause stress)?

About lauraenglish

Life Coach : Photographer

Posted on June 24, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

