Reverb10: Lesson learned

Reverb10 Prompt: What was the best thing you learned about yourself this past year? And how will you apply that lesson going forward?

I’ve had a day of it so this will be interesting.  I think I will answer this with my 2 minute rule.  Whatever comes out of me in the next 2 minutes is what I am meant to say….so here goes. 

One lesson I learned this year is that if I have an unreasonable attachment to a situation, there is an invitation to investigate what is going on underneath the surface.  I have witnessed in the past year where incidences have a stronger hold on me than a mature 41-year-old should experience.  In these moments I’m invited to look at what I am believing about the situation (which often leads to an event in my past) that is having an unreasonable hold on me.  I then can unravel the bits and pieces that aren’t serving me and look at where I want to take control of the situation and see if a) I want to give in to my past inclinations, which is fine or b) if I want to exercise a different reaction this time around…to try a different tactic.  For me, this awareness to attachment to an old story is HUGE and I am actually excited to see “what’s next” in what I have to learn about myself and my attachments to beliefs.  It’s like a game…and I’m all in!

About lauraenglish

Life Coach : Photographer

Posted on December 18, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Wow! I sure loved this! I so know what you mean! I’ve heard of that kind of reaction being called a 90/10. Ninety percent of the reaction is from other stuff that of which this situation reminds us. Only 10% of our reaction is actually about the present. When I would reflect like you were discussing, I’d “unpack” my emotional baggage around the old stuff. Suddenly, the present situation seemed a minor hiccup instead of a major issue. After all, it is only a measly 10%.

  2. I’m with Lori. If life is 10% what happens to us and 90% how we deal with it, then having a clear mind and not carrying our baggage with us everywhere has got to make that 90% so much better!

Leave a Reply

