Reverb10: Defining Moment

Reverb10 Prompt: Describe a defining moment or series of events that has affected your life this year.

I am going from the first thing that comes to my mind and this seems to be a big one for me.  I believe that I can officially say that I have conquered my fear of flying (which started in 1996).  I’ll gladly admit that I had an irrational fear of flying.  This fear was significant for me because I had travelled for work, I had moved overseas, I had lived far from my family and many other reasons that required air travel.  My phobias were far and wide and deep and strong.  I had extremely irrational behaviors during flights, and my pre-flight anxiety was often-times paralyzing…however I was proud to say I never gave in fully and continued to travel.  In the past 3 years I’ve been on what I call “a path to enlightenment” and along this path I realized that the only moment that is important is the moment that exists “right now”.  With this awareness (along with coaching and therapy) I have developed skills to keep me out of the “anxiety zone”.  My defining moment was at Thanksgiving when I realized that I had travelled without an anxious moment despite the turbulence AND I had not consumed alcohol to calm my nerves.  I had flown without my ‘security cocktail’ and without my ‘ticks’ I’d use to make me feel safe.  Given that in just this year I’ve flow to-and-from Florida, Colorado, Vietnam, Cambodia, Michigan (each with its share of layovers and such).  I think I’ve added it up and I’ve flown at least 30 “legs” this year and I am happy to say, my anxiety has been solved.  I can firmly say this because just this morning I landed after 2 turbulent flights home from my Christmas trip to DC.  So…my defining moment is realizing that I had solved a nearly debilitating phobia of flying!  Having said that, I am also happy to realize that 2011 will involve way less flying than 2010…phew!

About lauraenglish

Life Coach : Photographer

Posted on December 30, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. How amazing is that? I went through an experience this year where I tried to LEAP far instead of turtle step…. The result was a big time dose of pain and disorientation for a while… And then a miracle- I realized the pain was caused by a lie… I reclaimed the truth and damn that feels good!

  2. How amazing is that? I went through an experience this year where I tried to LEAP far instead of turtle step…. The result was a big time dose of pain and disorientation for a while… And then a miracle- I realized the pain was caused by a lie… I reclaimed the truth and damn that feels good!

Leave a Reply

