Aligned Visions

vision boardToday I co-facilitated a vision board workshop with a fellow coach Joda Coolidge.  I love facilitating small groups and I love to expose people to new creative ways to set visions and goals for themselves.  It is my playground!

I’ve been doing this process for myself for the last 5 years.  I enjoy the actual process, and then have fun reflecting on what I’ve achieved.

My first one I did was my most ‘inauthentic’ of all I’ve done.  I put things on there that I thought I ‘should’ want, like tons of money, an advanced certification, a published book.  That was and is ‘en vogue’ in coaching communities and I thought I should have that on my vision board.  When I recall that time, I can feel how much I was not aligned with some of the images.

On that same very board though some things did come true…I traveled extensively, I got a cleaning lady, had time to read a ton of books and so forth.  The thing that was also on the board was a house that, to me, represented a living space that was ‘just so’.  I was not necessarily interested in the house, just the feeling it gave me.  Well, fast forward to now…I am living in that very kind of house – a Cape style.  I didn’t even know I really wanted this style of house, and I wasn’t necessarily looking for this kind when we were house hunting, but that is what I live in.  Pretty cool, huh?

I do my vision boards mostly from a ‘feeling state’ perspective.  Of course, if there is something specific that I desire, I’m willing to put it on there, but I also want to make sure that I put how I will feel when I have it…because there is maybe something even better that can fulfill that desired feeling state that I cannot envision for myself.

I didn’t get a chance to do my own vision board today, but I certainly have a hankering…all magazines and glue sticks have better be on notice, I’m in a cutting and pasting mood!  Watch this space!

About lauraenglish

Life Coach : Photographer

Posted on January 11, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I’m feeling the same way – want to do it together?

Leave a Reply

