Moderation NOW

DSC_0186On December 1, I decided to start daily writing and to do a 30-day fitness challenge.

I have had a lapsed day (or many) for both of my intended goals.

I almost threw in the towel because I ‘messed up’.

Instead I am trying to let it be ok.  I am trying to keep at my goals regardless of my ‘mess up’.  At the end of the day, the only one it really matters to is ME, no one is harmed by my missed days, so I can let it go.

I have had a strong attachment to the “all or nothing” approach to achieving success.  What I’d prefer to build a new approach based on moderation.  Moderation feels so much more relaxed and self-trust based.

I am not sure I 100% am aligned with moderation.  I cannot tell if it is a personality-trait, a learned behavior, familial legacy or a survival adaptation but “command and control” has been my M.O. versus self-trust and moderation.

I am building the trust to know when ‘good enough’ is ok and that I can reach my goals EVEN if I am not perfect.  I intend to recognize when I am feeling the habit of perfection and ‘all or nothing’ and reframe with the question:  “What would moderation look like right now?”

Right now moderation looks like, letting it be ok that I have missed days.  To let the past be as it is and to start from right here where I left off and move forward.  All is not lost…in fact, I am GAINING a new, healthier approach to life.  Growth and expansion can happen with moderation because I will be able to release the energy associated with perfectionism and self-criticism.

I choose moderation NOW.  Can I have an AMEN?

About lauraenglish

Life Coach : Photographer

Posted on December 9, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Amen! I had a major surgery about 6 weeks ago & I struggle now with “what is good enough”…yet I believe moderation for me is “best of 7”. How many days in the week did I break a sweat, read my book etc.Post surgery, I’m humbled now by age, past injuries & watching my girls fly around. Call it midlife crisis, I don’t think so- maybe I needed to slow down…

  2. Laura, I love reading your post. Takes me back to Happiness and Moonshine. Love you darling. Mom

  3. Amen! I had a major surgery about 6 weeks ago & I struggle now with “what is good enough”…yet I believe moderation for me is “best of 7”. How many days in the week did I break a sweat, read my book etc.
    Post surgery, I’m humbled now by age, past injuries & watching my girls fly around. Call it midlife crisis, I don’t think so- maybe I needed to slow down…

Leave a Reply

