Noticing Perfection

I would like to change my relationship with perfectionism.  The areas of my life that are most affected by this affliction are

  • The cleanliness of my house
  • My relationship with my body
  • My expectations for how to be successful
  • My support of my kids’ education

All of these areas have a few things in common:

  1. They all require continual attention to keep “on top of it” with their successful attainment.
  2. They are areas that I feel the least adept.
  3. There doesn’t seem to be an ‘end point’ for the effort involved
  4. The standards for success seem high or unrealistic at times

So…what is a girl to do? 

The first step is to admit there is a “problem”.  The second is to decide what I ultimately want to feel.  The third is to get busy creating ways to feel those feelings right now. 

If I were to guess at what I want to feel, I’d guess:  peaceful and resourceful.  My next step is to mindfully create situations that help me feel that way.  To achieve this, I will set aside time tomorrow to create a list of ways I can achieve said feelings (fun and creative will be the intention for the list).   I also would like to invite the Universe to provide opportunities, resources and experiences that help me to feel more aligned with the situations described above.  This or better!

 

 

 

About lauraenglish

Life Coach : Photographer

Posted on June 1, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

