Finances = Romantic

Today I told my husband that for our 19th Anniversary (next week), I would like to have a series of detailed discussions about our finances and consider setting a budget for our family.  How’s that for a smoking hot gift.  I actually think this gift WILL be pretty darn connecting for the two of us.  We’ve got a mostly healthy perspective toward our financial situation however, for a good chunk of our married life, I’ve deferred the financial decisions to my husband. 

I trust him implicitly and I outsourced the ‘confusing-to-me’ financial part of our relationship.  I’ve often called it a “father/daughter” relationship with our money.  In the past 5 or so years, I’ve decided that I intend to change that perspective.  It has been a gradual process for me and each year I get a little more clarity and inspiration to see what our money really looks like.  I know that I am not 100% where I want to be with my relationship with our money…so this year, I’m stepping up my game and I’m willing to dig deeper, see things differently, ask good questions and perhaps really know what our situation is. 

What if this ‘not-so-romantic’ gift turns out to be relationship enhancing beyond what I can see now.  Wouldn’t that be cool!  So my very next steps are to look at the numbers in all of our accounts…really the very very next steps are to ask for the passwords for our accounts.  Baby steps…one day at a time.  To prosperity AND BEYOND!

About lauraenglish

Life Coach : Photographer

Posted on September 3, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

