Everywhere Are Signs

Today I got this message in my fortune cookie! 

I was elated to see that my efforts are going to pay off and soon!  Then, I laughed at myself.  Do I REALLY need a fortune cookie to know and believe that my efforts will pay off?  No, but it is fun to be reminded through this playful messenger.

I am reminded of a recent conversation I had with a client.  She wanted to leave her job and create a career that fit more with her desires, strengths and values.  Her boss was toxic, demanding and the work was way below her talent and skills, but the need for money and the lack of another alternative were keeping her stuck.  Throughout our coaching engagement we worked on both the practical parts of career change and also the inside/spiritual/woo-woo parts.  It was a dance and there were many advances and many retreats but all in all the intention was in the right direction.  FINALLY, she found the courage to quit even when nothing was officially set up on the other side.  I don’t always encourage this path, but we had worked on understanding the true financial situation and also realized that the work circumstances and the psychological toll were thwarting her attempts to find her next fabulous gig. 

As we were celebrating this decision, she admitted that she was always looking for “signs” for what the right decision would be.  In the end, she felt that not many signs showed up to lead her to the best decision.  That statement:  “I was looking for signs”…is such a curious one because at the end of the day, we do wish we could have the answers to our issues written in sky writing and in ads seemingly tailor-made for us in the newspaper. 

I believe it really is possible sometimes to have an answer fall in our lap (in a newspaper article), or on our head (as in a book from a shelf), or in our ears (via a song or conversation); but I don’t think that is the full picture of how it works.  I think the journey involves us aligning with the core essence of what we desire (peace, fulfillment, connection, freedom etc) before the signs can make themselves known.  In essence you have to know what to ask and look for before the signs can show up in your awareness.  I’ll be bold enough to say that the signs ARE everywhere (always) but you can’t see them if your focus is on what you don’t want.

Unfortunately, when we are in deeply disturbing situation, the ability to think of desires can be elusive and steeped in psychological dissonance.  The only desire in that state is usually “NOT THIS”,  Sadly that focus will give you more of what you don’t want because that is where your attention lies: in the “not this”.  So, when a clear-headed moment arises, ask “if not this, then what?”.  The more times you can open up to the question “what do I really want?” and drill down to the essence of your desire, the more clarity and relief you’ll experience which will put you in the frame of mind to SEE the positive signs that are around (everywhere) to guide you. 

To be honest, a lot of the signs are actually in the form of feelings and they can best be explained by the “hot and cold” game of our youth.  Basically, if you feel bad about something you are getting colder (further from what you want) and if you feel good about something you’re getting warmer (closer to what you want).  It takes being present with your body and feelings to connect with those signs.  I think it is brilliant that we’ve been designed to be able to access the answers with our own bodies…how cool is that? We have a compass with us always if we’re willing to tune in and listen. 

I see the types of signs we get from songs, words, and people are part of the warmer/colder game as well…but I think of them more as “winks from God/Universe”. 

My fortune cookie message today is a God-wink!  That makes me smile and I feel grateful!

About lauraenglish

Life Coach : Photographer

Posted on September 9, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

