Lessons in Discomfort

prickely heart2Right before Christmas I got Shingles.

I knew I’d get it some point in my life.  I had heard that those who’ve had a small case of chicken pox would likely get shingles.  So, I somehow knew it would come.  It did!

Here are a few things I gleaned from it.

  • I have a tendency to catastrophize things…so when the pain started (before rash), I was brewing a story of cancer in lymph system.
  • My husband is not one for talking about medical things, but when I told him of my pain and rash, he diagnosed the shingles! So, my reframe for my husband is that he deals with medical things when it is important.
  • I am proud that I took myself into the doctor…my normal mode is to wait it out.  If I had waited, I would not have been able to get the medicine to reduce the symptoms and duration.  My lesson is that I can trust myself to do what I need when I need to, and things work out for me.
  • The minute I was officially diagnosed, I DECIDED that I would have a mild case.  I held the belief the whole time…guess what, I had a mild case.
  • When I told people of my shingles, I found MANY people have had it.  That is where they would then tell me in detail of their symptoms.  That was a tricky spot for me because I had decided to have a mild case…and focusing on harsh cases didn’t feel like a good place to be.  I held myself neutral and reminded myself that I was going for mild.
  • When the significant nerve pain started, it was Christmas-time.  It was a blessing for me to be focusing on myself and not worried about how everyone else was doing.  I stayed right smack in my own business where I belong.  As a result, I had a pleasant family experience (I didn’t say pleasant physical experience).

As I shuttle out the remains of my rash, I feel in some ways blessed to have gotten it out of my system and to have learned a lot about myself in the meantime.  To recap…I learned.

  1. Assume the best not the worst
  2. Stay in my own business – always.
  3. Trust that my husband also has intuition about his own health – and remember #2.
  4. Trust my instincts
  5. I get to DECIDE how I experience everything (even the seemingly unfortunate)…and in most cases, the experience rises to meet my expectations.
  6. When being exposed to topics and information I don’t like…stay neutral and keep mentally focused on what I DO want (change the subject if possible).
  7. See blessings in everything.  They are there if I open to them.

In Louise Hay’s book You Can Heal Your Life.  The affirmation for shingles is:

I’m relaxed and peaceful because

I trust the process of life.

All is well in my world.

About lauraenglish

Life Coach : Photographer

Posted on January 4, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

